The 2020 Chamber Banquet presented the awards virtually for Business of the Year, Educator of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year. A video of the event was shown to our banquet sponsors, and now we are making it available to everyone.

A link to the video is HERE.

Joe Freudenberger and OakBend Medical Center received the Business the Year Award, presented by Abby King, who is an OakBend board member.

Makyla Monroe is the recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award. It was presented by Terry Lynch, who is chief of police.

Stacie Konvicka received Educator of the Year award presented by fellow educator Ashley Ivy.

The program was led by Michael Limas, board chair, and Chad Faucett, who replaces Limas for a two-year term on Oct. 1.

Our sponsors deserve a big thank you:

Clinical Pathology Laboratories

Exelon Generation

Dorian Tool

OakBend Medical Center

Phil Stephenson & MFS Storage

St. Christina’s EMS

Wharton Veterinary Clinic

Hudgins-Groover Real-Estate


JM Eagle

K-Mana LLC

McCreary, Veselka, Bragg & Allen PC

My Storehouse Mini Storage

Roberson Air Conditioning

Wharton County Junior College

Wharton Journal-Spectator/East Bernard Express


Caney Creek Nursing & Rehabilitation

Caney Valley Cotton/Moses Gin

City of Wharton

Cody Sweat — State Farm Insurance

Grace Community Fellowship

David Tripulas DDS

Edward Jones — Chad Faucett

Flowers It Is


The Konvicka Family

Hinze Bar-B-Que/ Hinze Country Kitchen


Nan Ya Plastics Corp

Prosperity Bank

OakBend Physical Therapy — Wharton

The First State Bank

Wharton Economic Development Corp.

Wharton Feed & Supply/Pekar’s Body Shop